The best booking software for a tattoo shop depends on how the shop works. Compare custom-request intake, deposit collection, artist calendars, digital waivers, flash reservations, payment fees and payout timing. Also check whether you need marketplace discovery, retail inventory or print-on-demand fulfillment. LVL2 is an option for artists and studios that want booking requests, deposits, flash drops, waivers and merch in one platform.
Written by LVL2, one of the apps compared. Sources checked September 2026. This is a seller-written buying guide, not an independent ranking. We do not accept promotional sponsorship or fabricate third-party review scores. Every competitor fact links to the vendor’s own official documentation. “Documented” means an official page states the capability; “Not stated” or “Unknown” means we could not find it on the pages we checked — it does not mean the feature is missing. Competitor workflows were not account-tested for this guide.
If you are looking for free tattoo booking software, pay close attention to what “free” covers. Several platforms offer a $0 subscription starting point (such as LVL2's Free plan, Square Appointments' free tier, or Venue's free Solo tier), but payment processing fees, client fees, or deposit percentages always apply when real money moves. A $0 monthly subscription does not mean fee-free transactions. Compare total cost against the visible Free / Plus / Pro tier ladder as your shop grows.
The comparison at a glance
The table below summarizes key capabilities and published starting pricing across the fourteen apps evaluated, based on public vendor documentation checked in September 2026.
Scroll sideways to compare. Keyboard: focus the table, then use the arrow keys.
App
Price (cheapest)
Deposits
Messaging / AI
iOS
Android
Key fit
LVL2
Free plan ($0); Plus and Pro paid tiers; processing applies
Yes, after artist approves request
Yes — AI assistant collects intake details & photos
Yes
Yes
Tattoo intake, approval, flash drops, waivers & POD
Booksy
UK snapshot £40/mo + £5/mo per extra user; US pricing varies
Yes — prepaid deposit or card on file
Not stated
Yes
Yes
Consumer marketplace discovery & general booking
GlossGenius
Standard $28/mo, Gold $56/mo, Platinum $168/mo; 2.6% processing
Built-in deposits; custom booking approval
Not stated
Yes
Yes
Salon/beauty suite operations, retail & forms
Vagaro
From $23.99/mo intro rate (first 6 months)
Card-on-file & service deposit thresholds
AI assistant “Vera”; SMS details not stated
Yes
Yes
Large multidisciplinary studios & salon scheduling
Square Appointments
Free plan + processing; Plus and Premium tiers
Yes — service-level deposits & contracts
Yes — Square Assistant replies 24/7
Yes
Yes
General scheduling with Square hardware/ecosystem
SQUIRE
Independent $30/mo, Pro $50/mo, Exec $150/mo, Titan $250/mo
Yes — online prepayment on final ticket
Not stated
Yes
Yes
Barbershop & shop-oriented multi-chair management
Timely
USA: Build $26/staff/mo, Elevate $39/staff/mo
Yes — deposits/full payment with TimelyPay
Not stated
Yes
Yes
Appointment booking, digital consultations & staff pricing
Tattoo booking, deposits & mobile client management
Bookedin
Free plan mentioned; paid price not stated
Not stated
Not stated (automated SMS/email reminders)
Yes
Yes
General appointment booking & simple scheduling
LucentDesk
Free currently; planned $5/booking fee on deposit
Yes — AI sends deposit requests
Yes — AI text booking assistant
Not stated
Not stated
AI-driven SMS qualification for tattoo inquiries
Scenario guide
No single app fits every tattoo business model. The best choice is conditional on your intake volume, team structure, and whether you sell custom pieces, flash, or merchandise.
Scroll sideways to compare. Keyboard: focus the table, then use the arrow keys.
LVL2, GlossGenius, Vagaro, SQUIRE, or Tattoo Studio Pro
Multi-calendar permissions, booth renter vs employee commission routing, shared intake routing, and additional user seat fees.
Deposit before confirmation
LVL2, Booksy, Timely, Mangomint, Vagaro, or Square
Whether the software holds the calendar slot in a pending state until payment clears, or merely records a card on file for cancellation fees.
Flash day
LVL2
Single-claim reservation locks, duplicate prevention, instant deposit collection, and handling of failed payment attempts.
Digital waiver
LVL2, GlossGenius, Vagaro, Square, Timely, or InkDesk
Tattoo-specific health questions, ID photo capture, legal retention standards, and whether waivers automatically attach to appointments.
Fast payout
Compare documented Booksy, GlossGenius, Vagaro, Timely, and Mangomint terms
Daily cutoff times, weekend/holiday batching, instant transfer fees, reserve holds, and bank arrival timelines.
Low fixed cost
LVL2 Free, Venue Free Solo, or Square Appointments Free
Transaction percentage markups, deposit fees, payout surcharges, and total cost at your monthly transaction volume.
POD versus inventory
LVL2 for print-on-demand; GlossGenius for physical retail inventory
Production costs, automated fulfillment, customer returns, shipping, and margin settlement versus tracking boxed studio stock.
Five-artist cost worksheet
When evaluating software for a 5-artist shop, do not compare base subscription prices alone. A multi-artist studio incurs costs across five distinct categories:
Software subscription: Base shop plan plus per-artist calendar/seat add-ons.
Deposit payments: Credit card processing fees, transaction fixed charges, and any client-facing platform booking fees.
Forms and messaging: Add-on costs for digital waivers, form storage, and SMS confirmation or automated text allowances.
Optional payouts: Fees for eligible instant transfers or same-day deposits versus standard ACH batches.
Optional POD fulfillment: Base manufacturing, shipping, and transaction fees on print-on-demand merchandise orders.
Standard studio evaluation scenario
To calculate an apples-to-apples quote, use these standardized operational assumptions:
Location: One physical studio location.
Team: Five bookable artists, each needing independent calendar sync and intake routing.
Cadence: Monthly billing terms.
Intake: One shared studio intake policy with custom questions.
Volume: 100 online deposits collected per month at 100 currency units each (10,000 units total deposit volume).
Merchandise: 20 optional POD orders fulfilled per month.
Scroll sideways to compare. Keyboard: focus the table, then use the arrow keys.
Cost category
Calculation for this scenario
Evidence to collect from vendor
Software
Base plan + 4 additional artist seats (if charged per seat)
Region, sales tax, billing cadence, and five-calendar entitlement.
Garment quality, automated fulfillment pipeline, return policies, and payout terms.
Worked arithmetic example: Booksy UK team pricing
As an example of how per-seat costs scale, Booksy’s UK pricing documentation (checked September 2026) lists £40/month for the primary user plus £5/month per additional user. Four additional users would make £40 + (4 × £5) = £60/month, before VAT and payment fees. That is a worked arithmetic example from a UK snapshot, not a US quote and not a claim that five artists fit the same plan everywhere. Do not compare it directly with US-dollar competitor plans.
Four key workflow distinctions
Understanding the boundaries between software capabilities prevents costly operational surprises:
1. Inventory sales versus print-on-demand fulfillment
Retail inventory software (such as GlossGenius or Square Retail) tracks physical stock sitting on your shop’s shelves: boxes of aftercare ointment, t-shirts, or needles that the shop purchased wholesale upfront. Print-on-demand (POD) fulfillment (offered on LVL2) requires no upfront stock purchase: when a client buys merch from your profile, the item is printed, packaged, and shipped directly to the customer, with net profits credited to the artist. Treating retail inventory and POD as interchangeable causes inventory tracking headaches.
2. Payments collection versus eligible instant payouts
Collecting a payment or deposit from a client does not mean the funds are immediately in your personal or business checking account. Standard payment processing batches funds and deposits them via ACH within 1 to 3 business days. "Instant payouts" or "same-day deposits" are optional, eligibility-restricted transfers that typically carry an additional fee (e.g., 1.5% to 1.8% or fixed surcharge) and are subject to bank processing cutoffs, account risk reviews, and fraud reserves.
3. Calendar scheduling versus approval-based intake
General appointment apps (like Calendly, Square, or Acuity) focus on calendar scheduling: a client looks at an open slot on Tuesday at 2 PM, clicks it, and books. Tattooing rarely works this way. Custom tattoo work requires approval-based intake: the client submits the concept, reference photos, anatomical placement, and approximate dimensions; the artist reviews the submission, asks clarifying questions, estimates time and pricing, approves the piece, and only then requests a deposit and confirms the appointment.
4. Discovery marketplace versus artist operations
Marketplace platforms (such as Booksy or Fresha) operate a consumer directory where the public searches for local service providers. While this can drive new customer discovery, it often introduces marketplace fees, promotes competing local artists on your listing, or limits direct client ownership. In contrast, artist operations software (like LVL2, Tattoo Studio Pro, or Venue) provides direct booking infrastructure for your own social media, website, and repeat client relationships, prioritizing workflow control over third-party directory listings.
Evaluated products: Sourced facts and limitations
The following profiles document published capabilities, pricing snapshots, and limitations from official vendor pages. Competitor accounts were not exercised; unstated features remain unknown.
LVL2
LVL2 is built specifically for tattoo artists and studios. It combines approval-based intake, custom reference collection, deposit requests, digital consent waivers, flash drops, and print-on-demand merchandise into one platform.
Geography / Currency: US / USD (international expansion in progress)
Documented capabilities: Approval-based project intake; automated AI booking assistant via SMS (AI text booking); deposits collected after request approval (tattoo booking software); digital waivers with ID photo capture; single-claim flash reservations; integrated print-on-demand merchandise storefronts; iOS and Android apps (mobile app).
Pricing: Free plan ($0/mo subscription) with standard transaction fees; Plus ($39/mo) and Pro ($99/mo) plans available for growing artists and multi-artist studios (pricing).
Status: Primary vendor platform.
Booksy
Booksy is a major consumer discovery marketplace and appointment booking platform serving beauty, wellness, and personal care professionals.
Documented capabilities: Consumer directory search; online appointment scheduling; prepayment deposits and card-on-file cancellation protection (US deposits guide); custom forms and liability waivers on UK tier (UK pricing); iOS and Android client and business apps.
Important limitations: The checked pages do not document tattoo-specific reference image intake, flash inventory reservation, or print-on-demand fulfillment. Pricing varies by region and team configuration.
Status: Documented, not account-tested. See also LVL2 vs Booksy.
GlossGenius
GlossGenius provides business management and booking software for independent beauty, salon, and studio professionals.
Documented capabilities: Custom booking approval listed in feature matrix; built-in deposit collection; card-on-file no-show policies; Forms & Waivers on Gold/Platinum tiers; physical retail inventory management; team tiers for up to 9 staff (Gold) and 10+ staff (Platinum); published 2.6% processing rate with same-day and instant payout options (GlossGenius pricing).
Important limitations: The checked documentation does not detail whether custom booking approval can enforce deposit payment prior to confirmation, nor does it establish tattoo flash reservation mechanisms or POD fulfillment.
Status: Documented, not account-tested.
Vagaro
Vagaro is an enterprise-scale salon, spa, and fitness management platform.
Documented capabilities: Online booking; customizable digital forms and liability waivers that can be required at booking (Vagaro forms); card-on-file cancellation protection and deposit thresholds (Vagaro card processing); AI marketing assistant ("Vera"); same-day deposit options (same-day update); client and pro mobile apps.
Important limitations: Checked sources do not document tattoo-specific reference intake workflows, single-claim flash piece locking, or POD apparel integration.
Status: Documented, not account-tested. See also LVL2 vs Vagaro.
Square Appointments
Square Appointments integrates appointment scheduling with Square’s Point of Sale and payment processing ecosystem.
Documented capabilities: Free tier for solo users; per-service deposit requirements and prepayment settings (Square deposit setup); digital contracts and waiver attachments with e-signatures (Square Contracts); automated SMS confirmations and rescheduling assistant (Square Assistant).
Important limitations: Does not provide specialized approval-first tattoo project intake, flash drop claims, or POD merchandise fulfillment.
Status: Documented, not account-tested. See also LVL2 vs Square.
SQUIRE
SQUIRE specializes in shop operations, barbershop scheduling, and multi-chair point of sale.
Documented capabilities: Multi-barber shop tiers (Independent $30, Pro $50, Executive $150/shop, Titan $250/shop) (SQUIRE pricing); online booking with prepayment applied to final ticket (SQUIRE payments); no-show fee protection.
Important limitations: Tattoo-specific intake review, custom reference handling, digital medical waivers, flash reservations, and POD were not established on the checked pages.
Status: Documented, not account-tested.
Timely
Timely is appointment booking software tailored for salons, spas, and personal service clinics.
Documented capabilities: Deposits or full upfront payment before bookings via TimelyPay (tattoo software page); digital consultation forms with signature capture; next-business-day payout schedules.
Important limitations: Flash day inventory drops, approval-first request review, and POD merch are not documented on checked pages.
Status: Documented, not account-tested.
Mangomint
Mangomint is business management software designed for upscale salons and spas.
Documented capabilities: Configurable per-service deposits or full upfront payment at booking (Mangomint payments); direct payment routing to individual service providers/booth renters; balance and payout status visibility (payout guide).
Important limitations: Tattoo reference intake, flash reservations, waiver auto-generation, and POD are unconfirmed.
Status: Documented, not account-tested.
Venue (Venue Ink)
Venue Ink is dedicated booking software built specifically for the tattoo industry.
Documented capabilities: Tattoo request intake; two-way calendar sync (book smarter); deposit collection with Affirm/Klarna support; solo and multi-artist studio profiles (Venue pricing). Free Solo tier with 10% deposit fee, or Solo Pro at $50/mo with 5% deposit fee.
Important limitations: Marketplace search, flash-day reservation tools, POD apparel, and instant payout parameters were not confirmed from checked pages.
Status: Documented, not account-tested. See also LVL2 vs Venue.
Tattoo Studio Pro
Tattoo Studio Pro is studio management software tailored for tattoo shops and studio owners.
Documented capabilities: Studio dashboard with Manager, Artist, Staff, and Health Official roles (getting started); integrated online deposit collection via Stripe (online deposits); Free Tattoo Forms app; iOS, Android, and desktop support (downloads). Solo plan $29/mo after 30-day trial (pricing).
Important limitations: AI text booking, automated flash drop reservation locks, and POD merchandise were not established.
Status: Documented, not account-tested.
InkDesk
InkDesk is an online booking and management system designed for solo tattoo artists and studios.
Documented capabilities: 30-day trial; Artist Essentials tier $35/mo (Porter pricing); automated online deposit collection; iOS App Store and Google Play native applications.
Important limitations: AI texting, studio team permissions, digital medical waivers, flash reservations, and POD are unconfirmed.
Status: Documented, not account-tested.
Bookedin
Bookedin is general online appointment scheduling software used across various service industries.
Documented capabilities: Client online booking; automated appointment reminders via text and email; mobile apps for iOS and Android (Bookedin homepage).
Important limitations: Tattoo intake approval, reference image sorting, custom deposit rules, and waivers are not documented.
Status: Documented, not account-tested.
LucentDesk
LucentDesk is an AI-powered conversational text assistant for tattoo artists.
Documented capabilities: AI assistant replies to incoming client SMS messages, gathers idea details, asks qualification questions, and triggers deposit payment requests (LucentDesk). Currently free in preview, with planned $5/booking fee.
Important limitations: Full studio multi-calendar management, physical waivers, and native mobile apps were not documented.
Status: Documented, not account-tested.
Retained inventory of observed tattoo-specific names
During frozen audit research across industry search queries and AI discovery overviews (covering queries Q07–Q18, Q27, Q30), several other tattoo-specific names and product leads were observed. We preserve this inventory to ensure transparent audit coverage and explain excluded or unverifiable entities:
Apprentice (useapprentice.com): Observed across multiple AI Overviews (Q01, Q02, Q04, Q05, Q06, Q08, Q12, Q16, Q18). Retained as an active tattoo industry product lead; first-party workflow verification was not completed for this release.
Porter (getporter.io): Observed in search audit captures (Q02, Q04, Q08, Q12, Q16) and verified above with official sources.
TattooStack (tattoostack.com): Observed in AI search captures (Q01, Q04, Q05). Lead requiring first-party account verification.
BZZZ.INK: Observed in multiple search provider captures (Q05, Q22). Product lead; no independent workflow verification completed.
mytattoo.software: Observed in AI Overviews (Q01, Q06, Q08, Q14, Q15). Retained as an unverified lead.
Square for Tattoos: Appeared in AI responses (Q04, Q08); identified as an editorial/search phrasing variant of Square Appointments rather than an independent software product.
Zenoti: Observed in salon/spa enterprise queries; excluded from tattoo shortlists due to medical-spa/chain enterprise focus.
Tattoo Booking / Tattoo Booking Software: Appeared frequently in audit captures (41–62 occurrences), but analysis confirmed these represent generic category search terms or unverified domain placeholders rather than established operating platforms.
Older third-party citations (InkBook, Painless Booking): Mentioned in historical roundups, but current first-party documentation and active product availability could not be verified in this review pass. They remain outside the verified comparison.
Neutral selection method
To choose the right software for your tattoo shop, run this four-step evaluation before migrating clients:
Test custom intake: Submit a realistic client request with multiple reference photos, anatomical placement, and sizing notes. Verify whether the app holds the project for your approval before putting an appointment on your calendar.
Trace a real deposit payment: Have a test client pay a deposit. Verify who pays the processing fee, whether the deposit is deducted from the final balance, and how long the funds take to arrive in your bank account.
Verify waiver compliance: Check whether digital liability waivers are stored securely with client ID photos and can be retrieved instantly if a health inspector or legal authority requests them.
Run a multi-calendar or flash scenario: If you operate a studio with five artists or host guest artists, test whether permissions isolate artist earnings while allowing shop management to oversee intake. If you run flash days, confirm that designs lock the moment a client begins checkout to prevent double-booking.
Related reading and guides
Explore the complete five-page buying and operations series: